PDA

View Full Version : Ich, planned treatment, and am I freaking out?

Innivus
07-05-2007, 12:52 PM
Ok, so I'm a newbie and my new discus has come down with ich:(. After I brought it home it was on its own for a while; typical discus behavior, but then I get up Sunday and it's got the white spots. I've treated the disease before with malachite green/formalin chemical stuff bought at the store, plus putting salt in the water (tablespoon/10 gallon). Plus I've read all about it in this forum and many others. Water perameters are fine, I'm at 85 degrees F, and I'm doing a 25% daily change. The good news is it hasn't spread(MG/F formula kills that off) But I've been repeating the treatment for about 4 days and it hasn't gone away. In fact, it's slowly gotten worse.

So first question: do I need more patience? I've seen it take a few days to cure before, but I'd like to see some results. Can Ich be instantly 'cured' or does it need to run through its cycles, much like a common cold?

Second question: does this treatment sound like an acceptable one:
30 second to one minute salt bath, 5 tablespoons of salt/gallon. Immediately followed by a trip to another tank with MG/F to kill off any sporing ICH. If my discus starts to 'roll over' immediately remove to MG/F tank (btw, it doesn't take much imagination to imagine what 'rolling over' is, but why? I'm assuming if left unchecked it would be very dangerous, but how bad are those two seconds of rolling over to an already stresssed fish?).

Does this sound like a plan? Does anyone want to shar etheir super-inrecredibly-reliable ICH treatment that is easily replicable? Appreciate the thoughts before hand.

alxjss
07-05-2007, 01:18 PM
Excuse the ignorance, but i thought Discus didn't get ick because of the temp. Is that right or wrong? Please let me know.

White Worm
07-05-2007, 01:40 PM