PDA

View Full Version : Interesting turquoise

Rod
07-09-2007, 09:22 AM
These photos show a pair of turquoise i have been breeding from for a few years now. I shot them tonight carrying a nice spawn of day old fry. The interesting thing about this pair is they throw a very small percentage of most unusual fry.

Rod
07-09-2007, 09:31 AM
These photos show the unusual discus that are produced occasionally. They are born with red stress bars which disappear at around the 6th to 8th week. They never show again, completely barless. They also have another unusual trait....quite a few of the scales are very deformed....irregular. None of the other siblings are like that at all.

All comments welcome

Rod:)

Ed13
07-09-2007, 09:41 AM
I"ll take a guess that the one in front in the very first pic of the pair is the one introducing these"weird" genes. It doesn't quite look turk to me.
Beautiful strange little guys, a lot of spots too, hopefully you can work out the flaws, who knows maybe you'll get a new strain out of this.

Rod
07-09-2007, 10:18 AM
I"ll take a guess that the one in front in the very first pic of the pair is the one introducing these"weird" genes. It doesn't quite look turk to me.
Beautiful strange little guys, a lot of spots too, hopefully you can work out the flaws, who knows maybe you'll get a new strain out of this.

Thanks, The pair are brother and sister from a cross of male red turquoise and female red diamond. The male in the pic is almost identical to his father in looks and the female ( the weird one :D) is more like an rsg. The breeder of the red diamond told me they are german red turk x rsg so the red spots are coming from that side of the crossing. I'm hoping for one of the barless ones too bred with the mother eventually..........:D

AADiscus
07-09-2007, 12:01 PM
I like those Rod. In the second set of pictures that first pic.......look how thick that is. Great job!:)

Condor
07-09-2007, 01:24 PM