PDA

View Full Version : going away: can I leave chemipure in my aquaclear for 3 weeks???

sophie68
07-10-2007, 09:55 PM
Hi all,:)

I am off to France for 3 weeks tomorrow and I just did a big WC. The fish will only be fed tetra bits every other day and there will be one 50 % weekly WC. I have added 1 aquaclear with 2 chemipure in it, as someone on the forum suggested. As I have never used that product before, I am just wondering, can I leave it in the aquaclear for 3 weeks??????

Thanks a lot!!!!!

Sophie

greyhoundfan
07-10-2007, 11:11 PM
IMO..you should be ok. It should take awhile before the chemipure reaches its saturation point and becomes ineffective. What other type of filtration do you have?? Just the Aquaclear?? Are you running any cannisters? I'm sure if you provide more info others could provide a definitive answer. Since there will be a 50% WC in the middle of your absence this will give you a buffer.

sophie68
07-10-2007, 11:39 PM
Hi,
I have an Eheim pro III and a big sponge filter. My tank is 80 gallon, I have 4 sub adult discus, 1 smaller one, 5 sterbai cories and 5 albino bushynoses.
I read that chemipure was supposed to keep your PH stable...Is that true???? On the other hand, I know carbon is not great for discus and chemipure is mainly carbon and ion exchange resins. I have never used carbon in my tank longer than 2 days (to remove meds).
Thanks!;)

Sophie

greyhoundfan
07-10-2007, 11:55 PM
Based on this info I hijacked:

Chemi-pure Aquarium Filter Media