PDA

View Full Version : Shanghai Discus

Denning
07-30-2007, 10:21 AM
Hello All:

This is my first post. I'm actually a Malaysian working in Shanghai. I'm still relatively new to discus and only started keeping them in Beijing (where I previously worked); clueless then that Malaysia is famed for the King of Fishes and China still has quite a way to go.

When I headed home for a visit, I was lucky to meet Jeffrey Yang from whom I purchased a select few pieces of BDs, turqs and RGDs. They are doing swimmingly at my Dad's whilst I'm back in China.

Anyway, thought I'd share with you my discus here in Shanghai (turqs and san merahs, mostly 4 to 5-inched ). Starved for choice; these all come from a fish market near my apartment! I also visited a local breeder and grabbed myself 6 2-inched LSS juvies (from 2 batches) - I've yet to snap pics of them but have attached pics (pics of these and my san merahs in a following thread) of their parents and a sibling from the breeder's site.

Very happy to meet you all and comments / questions most welcome.

Cheers!

Denning

Denning
07-30-2007, 10:29 AM
Shanghai (market) San Merahs!

Ed13
07-30-2007, 10:30 AM
Nice of you to share these beautiful discus! Some of these turqs even have spots, I wonder if they are throwbacks from leopard parents.

I find it funny that you mention China has a long ways to go in discus and yet this fish are far superior than what you'll normally find at any Fish store in the west hemisphere!! But I guess compared to Malaysia it does has room for improvement.

Denning
07-30-2007, 10:38 AM
Parents / sibling to juvies I got from a local Shanghai hobbyist/breeder. Will snap pics of my juvies soon.

Denning
07-30-2007, 10:42 AM
Ed13, thanks for your comments! If you're ever in Shanghai, I'd be more than happy to show you the fish markets here :) Not muh to shout about, I'm afraid.

I've no idea if they are throwbacks; never bred a discus fry in my life.

Denning

truc_tuyen
07-30-2007, 11:05 AM