PDA

View Full Version : please help desifer this water

jlspitler
08-06-2007, 11:07 PM
ok i have been cycling my tank for about a week know. and everything was at zero till tonight. my Ammonia is at .25 and my no3 is at 20 ppm and no2 is at 0 ph is 7.6 and my water is hard and water temp is 85. i am still learning the water chemstristy. i also have goldfish in there to speed up the cycle process. any info is greatly appreciated. thanks. j

Tropical Haven
08-06-2007, 11:23 PM
You are still about 2 to 3 weeks away from your tank from being fully cycled. Don't rush your discus into your tank until your tank is fully cycled.

jlspitler
08-06-2007, 11:30 PM
i am not rushing at all. just trying to figure out these numbers. i do have goldfish in it for the time being to help teh process. and i have added about 2 gallons of water from our fish tank at work to mine. thanks for teh quick answer. i posted some questions on another board and they took 3 days to answer. thanks again. j

Polar_Bear
08-07-2007, 03:06 AM
I'm betting that you have the same Lake Michigan water as I do, I would not call it hard, it ranges from about 8 GH to 8.5 GH, and 4 KH to 5.5 KH seasonally. Discus will breed just fine in it, and they certainly can be kept in it. If you would like to speed up your nitrogen cycle just get some Bio-Spira or Stabilty and you will be all set for discus in about a week.

Ed13
08-07-2007, 12:06 PM
ok i have been cycling my tank for about a week know. and everything was at zero till tonight. my Ammonia is at .25 and my no3 is at 20 ppm and no2 is at 0 ph is 7.6 and my water is hard and water temp is 85. i am still learning the water chemstristy. i also have goldfish in there to speed up the cycle process. any info is greatly appreciated. thanks. j
Welcome to Simply!