PDA

View Full Version : Newbie trying make it right?

jmmontag
08-09-2007, 02:46 PM
Hello, I am a newbie trying to fix things. I have three young discus in a 40 gallon tank. The tank is a planted year old tank that used to have guppies. It now has three med size Discus I got a week ago. I realized the three Discus should go in a bb tank. I have a 55 gallon that will be a bb Discus tank. I have a couple questions if any one can help. I now realize I should have got more info before I ever agreed to take my friends discus:(
I want to have more than three discus in my tank. The three I have currently are little terrors. Two have ganged up on the third. Is there a way to stop this? If I get a few more now should I put them in the new 55 for qt? Then add the three I have later? If I get 5 more can I keep 8 in the 55 for a while? Can I then put a couple in the planted 40 gallon when they are older and I am more experienced? My husband just thinks these guys have me wrapped around their fins:p
I never understood why anyone would go through all this extra care for Discus before. It is much more work than my reef tank!
I keep wanting a little ecosystem like my reef tank. These Discus are little piggies! It just won't work:confused:
I keep hearing conflicting info about qt tanks. If you go with a cycled tank it should be done fishless to reduce any possible cross-contamination? You should get several at the same time to reduce cross-contamination? Will you overload the system if you add too many at once? Will daily water changes make up for not having a fully cycled tank?
I have someone in mind to get the discus from. I will try to ask him questions too. I am sure the sponsors want their babies to go to good homes;) Thank You for any info you can give, Jeanine & the three discus

White Worm
08-09-2007, 03:35 PM
I realized the three Discus should go in a bb tank.
Yes, younger ones need clean water and lots of food.