PDA

View Full Version : Please help with injured Discus.

CelticMyst
09-12-2007, 09:53 AM
Hello, I am a newbie here with a Discus tank. Im writing in the hopes that someone will lead me in the right direction on what type of medication I should go out and get asap. I am filling out the quesitionaire below with hopefully information that will help with the diagnoses of the problem. Thank you, ~ kate

Disease Questionnaire - please complete

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please complete the questionnaire if your fish are sick (copy and paste)

DISEASE QUESTIONNAIRE

Problem

1. Please explain the problems with your fish/when and how they started
My young Discus, Casper is sick. It started yesterday when I saw him dart and jump so fast that he hit the top of the canopy. This was followed by another young Discus, named lucy lemon that attacked Casper. She has been very aggressive towards casper. He was by the heater when it happened, and I presummed that he was hit or butted against the heater and the pain caused him to spazz and dart like he did. He has been staying in the corner of the tank since it happened. The heater itself is very hot, when I was cleanning the tank once it burnt me when I came too close.

2. Symptoms (i.e. turning dark, excess slime, not eating, clamped fins, flashing, darting, clamped gills, white/yellow/green poop, hiding, headstanding or tailstanding, white on tips of fins, rotting or fungus, blisters/ white zits on fish, bloated, cloudy eyes, wounds)

I noticed a white patch under his chin, that could be a burn mark. Like when we burn ourselves, the skin turns white. It is a grey coloring today. His eyes are clear, his breathing is normal, tho he is acting weak and sometimes will lay on his side.

3. What medications/ treatments that you have already tried and results. Include dosages and duration of treatment.

I have not used any medications yet.

Tank/Water