PDA

View Full Version : 10 gallon per fish rule

luenny
09-24-2007, 12:53 AM
Hi all,
Just a newbie here and I want to ask something about the 10 gallon per fish rule. Does this rule apply to bb tank or just planted tank? The reason why I am asking this is I am staying in Singapore and if I go around Singapore asking discus keeper about the 10 gallon per fish rule, most of them would have never heard about it and some of them would think that I am crazy.

I have seen people keep 10 adult discus in a 50 gallon bb tank over here. Some of the extremist keep up to 20 in a 50 gallon tank - but these don't grow quite as fast. The thing about people keeping discus here in Singapore is we do a lot of water changes every day or every other day. Some if not most of us do have the luxury of using tap water directly - with water conditioner added - when doing water change. We do not even need heater. So what is commonly practice over here is a lot of water changes and you can keep more fishes in the tank. And some of them do as much as 100% water changes every day and seriously I can't say that their discus is not growing since some of them do win prizes from discus competition. So my question would be, how many people follows the 10 gallon per fish rule? And how important is it?

Sorry, just a newbie with a lot of silly questions.

White Worm
09-24-2007, 02:08 AM
The 10g per fish rule is not a rule at all. Its just safe guidance for new people to the hobby. Things are easier to control if a newbie sticks to the guidance until they get some expereince behind them. It all depends on things such as your source water, what you feed, your experience with discus, size of discus, fitration, water changes, etc.

Tropical Haven
09-24-2007, 09:25 AM