PDA

View Full Version : I need emergency help ASAP

wrangler
10-15-2007, 09:52 PM
Ok I am a newbie that purchased a discus approx 2.5 weeks ago. Everything started out ok...abeit she was alittle shy. She was eating good for the first 3 days....then she started spitting out everything that she puts in her mouth....she shows an interest in food...but she just spits it out. When I first got her I noticed a small spot on her tail....I thought that it was trauma from being caught in a net and then put into a plastic bag for travel.....I would guess that she is 4.5-5.0 inches across. The store said that they had her for several months and that she was eating great...brine shrimp/bloodworm ect...I purchased the same items to try to make the transition easier for her. Starting several days ago I noticed that she was staying dark all the time, altho she is still out swimming in the tank. Today I notice that she seems foggy....her body seems hazy...I am assuming some sort of excess mucus and it seems to be clinging to her pectorial fin. Tonite she showed NO interest in food. I have moved her to a hospital tank....but i dont know what I am treating her for.

Anyone have any ideas?

BTW I have been doing a 50 WC every 2-3 days
I tested my water and it says
78 temp
10 ppm nitrate
0 ppm nitrite
0 amonia
8.0 pH<-------high I know, but that is out of the tap

This tank if a 30 gallon planted tank with CO2 running every other day, 3 T5 bulbs, 1 T8 bulb, with some platys, guppies, cherry barbs, neons, 1 danio, several amano shrimp, several glass shrimp and a khuli loach.

Everyone else in the tank seems ok and has a great appetite....

I really dont want to lose this fish....but I am not sure what I need to do to treat her. Thanks again!

Tracy

2sybs
10-15-2007, 10:51 PM
to start you should raise the temp up to around 84 - 86 deg.
and one of the gurus will be along to help from there.
Ray

White Worm
10-15-2007, 10:59 PM