PDA

View Full Version : New Breeder with a few questions?

jmcholden
10-21-2007, 12:10 PM
Hello all,
Let me begin by thanking ALL of you for the whealth of info I've gotten from this site. I have been keeping Discus for 20 yrs off and on as pets. I now have a 55 community Discus tank and a 29 bb breeder set up. I have about 50 fry that have been free swimming for 15 days. Only about 10% are eating BB and they are twice the size of the others. Is this normal ? At what point should all be eating BB ?
Also I have the tank at 50% water level, at what point should I raise the water level back up ? The parents are both still in the tank and seem to be doing well mom is a RT and dad is a PB.
Sorry for not posting pictures but I'm not sure how?
Thanks in advance and sorry for the long thread.:p

White Worm
10-21-2007, 12:36 PM
The main reason to lower water level is to get fry to attach. With 15 day old fry, you should have the tank full and keep it clean.

Elite Aquaria
10-21-2007, 12:46 PM
I begin to introduce BBS on the 5th day and by the end of the 7th day all are eating BBS with no problems. Also like Mike stated the lowering of the tank water is only to assist in getting the fry to attach once this has occurred I raise the water back to the top.

Dan

jmcholden
10-21-2007, 01:38 PM
Thanks for the replies, I will raise the water level back up.
I've been doing water changes religiously 2-3x's a day.
All the fry seem to be growing just not at the same rate, as I stated only about 10% have the orange bellies from the BB?
I guess time will tell?

jmcholden
10-22-2007, 12:46 AM
OK water level is back up and all is well. Next question, at what point should I cut back on the lighting. I've had the lights on 24/7 since the fry went free swimming. I have a 10 LED moon light I can turn on but the fry scatter around the tank when I turn it on.:confused:
Thanks,
Jon

White Worm
10-22-2007, 03:58 PM