PDA

View Full Version : GROWING DISCUS WITH MINIMAL WC?

ionas.simion.damian
01-13-2008, 08:49 AM
I JUST STARTED AND I M DOING LIKE 5% EVERY 3 OR 4 DAYS . IF MY WATER IS OK DO I STILL NEED TO DO WC?
I THINK DISCUS IS JUST A MYTH. HAVE ONE FRIEND KEPT HIS JUVENILES (2" AT 70 TEMP AND ANOTHER DOING WC ONCE A MONTH (TANK WAS PLANTED. I M NOT TRYING TO BREED THEM JUST TO HAVE SOME HEALTY FISH. U THINK IS POSSIBLE?

BSW
01-13-2008, 08:58 AM
I do 50% every other day on a 60 gal planted. (which might be a little overkill)
I do not use RO water.
PH 7.6
TDS 200 ppm
Planted tank

I am fairly new to Discus too. And have chosen to follow the recommendations of experienced hobbyists here at Simply. The fish may could make it longer. But the fish respond so nicely at WC time, it must be doing something really good for them. So I will stay with that.
I think you might be at risk for health issues and stress, by not doing enough water changes. I wouldn't want to risk my fish, it's just to easy to do the required WC's.
And WOW at a 70 F temp, truthfully, I'm surprised his fish are still alive !
B

GrillMaster
01-13-2008, 10:03 AM
I JUST STARTED AND I M DOING LIKE 5% EVERY 3 OR 4 DAYS . IF MY WATER IS OK DO I STILL NEED TO DO WC?
I THINK DISCUS IS JUST A MYTH. HAVE ONE FRIEND KEPT HIS JUVENILES (2" AT 70 TEMP AND ANOTHER DOING WC ONCE A MONTH (TANK WAS PLANTED. I M NOT TRYING TO BREED THEM JUST TO HAVE SOME HEALTY FISH. U THINK IS POSSIBLE?

If your water is ok after doing a 5% WC every 3 or 4 days, your not feeding your fish nearly enough especially if they are juvies! 4-5 times a day so they can grow is the norm.

Your friend that keeps his 2" juvies in 70 degree water probably hasn't had them very long, an probably wont have them very much longer! Discus require warm water minimum of 82 degrees. 84 is better.

If you are looking to keep healthy discus, infrequent water changes and low temps is not the way to do it!