PDA

View Full Version : OK to have more than one discus in a tank?

rice14
01-15-2008, 03:25 PM
Hi all. I've been keeping fish tanks for almost 30 years now but never had a discus before. Most of my experience is with cichlids. I recently got a cobalt Blue from a local fish store. A good deal I thought at $40. anyway. I'd love to have more than one in the tank (a 46 gallon hexfront). so I guess I have 2 questions.

1) can I have more than one discus in the tank? the kid at the store said they would eventually fight. but I question his expertise and from what I have read it seems quite common to keep more than one, even several, in one tank.

2) If its ok to have more than one should I stick to more cobalts? or is it better to get different varieties?

I'm not necessarily looking to breed them (although not opposed to the idea) but was hoping to have one or 2 more in there with him.
also, the discus I have is a juvenile but most if not all of the discus the store (Davey Jones - Albany, NY) gets are wild caught adults. I've never had the courage to try ordering fish through the mail but have considered the idea for this tank. discus are such an investment that I'd like to have the nicest fish I possibly can and would be able to order other juveniles that way. So, how safe is mail order or should I just dismiss that idea right away?

thank you for any input you may have.
Kevin

Don Trinko
01-15-2008, 03:39 PM
Most suggest 5 or more discus. They do have a pecking order and there will always be someone chasing someone else.. I have several tanks with 4 in and they seem to get along ok.

You can mix varieties with little or no problem. Some (brown) are slightly more agressive than others sometimes.

Read a lot on this site: Discus are not difficult to keep but do have needs that other fish do not.

1. They need clean water. Be prepaired to make water changes

2. They need a warm temperature. ( 82 min preferably 84 to 86)