PDA

View Full Version : PH problem

DCH
01-21-2008, 07:32 PM
I am a beginner who has not yet bought his Discus. I'm trying to get the tank water perfect for them to avoid disasters when they arrive. I am not able to used aged water, it must come straight from the tap. The PH straight out of my tap is 6.8 which is what the breeder I have chosen ships his Discus at. I was able to keep my tank at 6.8 for about 3 months. Now when I check PH it's 7.2 using API PH test kit (3 drops in tube). I got some aquacheck test strips before I purchased my test kits and I still get 6.8 with them, from the tap and the tank. With the API drops I get 7.2 from tap and tank. What should I believe? Do the drops or test strips go bad?

pcsb23
01-21-2008, 07:37 PM
I am a beginner who has not yet bought his Discus. I'm trying to get the tank water perfect for them to avoid disasters when they arrive. I am not able to used aged water, it must come straight from the tap. The PH straight out of my tap is 6.8 which is what the breeder I have chosen ships his Discus at. I was able to keep my tank at 6.8 for about 3 months. Now when I check PH it's 7.2 using API PH test kit (3 drops in tube). I got some aquacheck test strips before I purchased my test kits and I still get 6.8 with them, from the tap and the tank. With the API drops I get 7.2 from tap and tank. What should I believe? Do the drops or test strips go bad?In truth both could be wrong. BUT your ph is close enough to the breeders as not to be worth worrying over. It is far better to have clean stable water than to worry over much at this time about ph. Once the bio-filter kicks in the ph is likely to drop a tad anyway. Stability is more important than so called perfect water.

DCH
01-21-2008, 07:43 PM