PDA

View Full Version : Re: PH Swing - Help

Lex2000
02-06-2008, 01:56 PM
Hello Folks,:(:(:(:(:o

i'm new to discus keeping. I been ok for the past 4 week till this week my PH dropped to 4.0.
I did nothing to change the tank. It’s bare bottom tank with hydrosponge and Hob filter, 20g, feeding 3 times, tap water Ph 6.8-7

Please help.

ed8t
02-06-2008, 02:41 PM
Sounds like you have very low KH. Whereabouts do you live? How much water changes do you do? Frequency? Are you checking your pH with a meter?

A heavy bioload ie. a few discus in a 20 gallon tank could cause the pH to slide real fast if you have low KH readings. Our water in Vancouver is very soft, TDS 0 ppm, barely readable KH levels, pH out of the tap is about 7.0. I buffer all my tanks with crushed coral w/aragonite, pH rises to 7.6 if I use a fair bit of the buffering material, but it never moves from there. Daily water changes help maintain the pH too.

dpt8
02-06-2008, 03:22 PM
Great advise,,I too had to buffer my tanks ith chunks of argonitecoral in the tanks..Keeps the ph from crashing.. Could use a little Arm and Hammer to gradually raise the ph. The argonite is the brownish crunk in the left of this pic.. :9)

Graham
02-06-2008, 05:13 PM
Hello Folks,:(:(:(:(:o

i'm new to discus keeping. I been ok for the past 4 week till this week my PH dropped to 4.0.
I did nothing to change the tank. It’s bare bottom tank with hydrosponge and Hob filter, 20g, feeding 3 times, tap water Ph 6.8-7

Please help.

That is called a pH Crash and it occurs when all the KH is used up, which buffers against the acids prodcued in the tank.

Start doing water chnages to get it back up into the 7.0 range. The you can use a buffer to hold it there or do very regular water changes, testing the KH as you go.