PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Meechigan!!!!

BossHogg
02-11-2008, 11:01 AM
Hello all, I am a Discus noob,but not an cichlid noob although I know DIscus are totally different from what I am use to.

I have suucessfully housed and breed Peacocks and Tropeus, and now I plan to start a Discus and Apistogramma tanks.

Far as my discus tank I have 75gal tank with 2 whisper 60 turned to low, lots of different plants will update with names this evening, also have 3 pieces of driftwood (maylasian), not going to run CO2, gonna try the liquid chemicals as needed, it has been running for about 3 weeks now, my nitrates are great, ph is bout 6.8, but my KH and GH are both very high, I have done water changes but not sure how to get those levels down, I also have 7 neon tetras, and 7 Harlequin Rasbora, and 2 Corydoradinae they are silver with High Fins, lol drawing a mental name block right not. Oh yeah an my current temp is about 80.1 to 81.5 degrees through out the day.

I will also get this updated with some pics.

I am open to all suggestions, and criticism, as I said I am learning something new with the live planted aquariums as well as with the Discus. But qudos to this forum it has been very helpful from what I have read so far.

Elite Aquaria
02-11-2008, 07:13 PM
Welcome to Simply....This is a great place to learn about Discus. I would say that the temp is a little low for discus... I keep my tanks around 84-86...I also do not have any plants or gravel in my tanks...if I did it would be difficult to keep the tanks clean with all the food I give my fish...;)

alxjss
02-11-2008, 10:59 PM
Hi fellow michigander:wave: I am only new to discus for almost a yr now. Have a pretty good experience so far. This site is the best. Post pics when possible and WELCOME TO SIMPLY!

Tropical Haven
02-12-2008, 10:16 AM