PDA

View Full Version : First Post in SD! Sadly my new Pets are sick.

a5610z
02-23-2008, 07:59 AM
Hello Everyone,

First off, I just wanted to say that this is a great site, and although I'm still very new to Discus keeping, I feel that I've gained so much from just browsing and reading what members here have posted. Thanks a bunch.

Well I've actually wanted to rear Discus for a long time, and since I've moved into a bigger place, I decided to go for it.

I have a Bare Bottom 50 Gallon high tank, Jaeger 100W heater, 2 Eheim Pro II 2026's (One fully cycled, one new) and heavy aeration from two air stones.

My Tank Parameters are as follows:

Nitrates, Ammonia = 0.
Nitrites 0.5ppm (Mild treatment with Sera Nitrivec now)
PH 7.5
Water Temp 93F
Salt -> One Tablespoon / 10 Gallons
Medication -> 250mg Metro / 10 Gallons

Ok so now on to why I've started medicating.

When I visited my LFS, he was treating a whole tank of juvenile BDs, RWs, Ghosts, that had contracted a flagellate infection (white poo in abundant amounts).

As I happen to know this LFS owner quite well (I have a 60G planted tank which I have enjoyed for a few years now) he suggested that I take this lot of 13 fellas to care for first. I knew full well what I was getting into, these poor guys were already sick, but I decided to try it out. It wasn't a matter of getting a good deal, in fact I paid him close to what he was originally asking for them. I know it was a jump into the deep end but I had to try anyway.

So, I brought them back, put them in, bumped up the temp slowly to 93F from 84F over 3 days, started the salt treatment and the metro. On Day 2, they were great, still a little timid, but they were eating. Day 3 proved to be even better, with the whole bunch of them swimming up and down the tank, some even fighting. So I thought things were looking up, until yesterday.