PDA

View Full Version : Yellow water

mcgreg
03-18-2008, 07:19 AM
I am new with discus and my english is not good.
I started with an 150L tank and and external water filter with carbon,sponges,and biological material at the top.The first 2 weeks all was fine and i wait that the tank has made his cycle before i putt in discus but then in the 3 week the water is become yellow! I dont know why. My water rates this time are:Ph=7 gh=8 kh=5 ammonia=0
Nitrite=0 Nitrate=5
I have plants and mangroove roots inside the tank but the roots are in the tank from the beginning and i dont think the yellow water came from that.I use bacterial too (biotrace). any idea what is happen?

Polar_Bear
03-18-2008, 08:26 AM
You need to do regular water changes. The yellow is probably coming from the discus themselves. You did not mention how many are in your very small tank, but hopefully it is not more than 5.

accessj
03-18-2008, 12:19 PM
Hi:

I too had yellowish water about 2-3 weeks after I placed in driftwood roots. My water had a slight mustard color. The parameters tested good - just like you. It actually looked cloudy. The fish were very happy. I didn't think it was from the roots at first - but now i believe that the tannins in the roots have slowly leached out and tinted the water. I took a sample to a very experienced fish keeper. As soon as he looked at my water, he said right away that it was from the roots since I didn't soak them before I put them in the tank.

Are your fish happy? Errect fins - swiming around - eating well?

The fish actually like this type of water - the tannins leach out of the roots.

I have chose to let water changes slowly clear up the water. However, he did say that charcoal will clear up the water - but charcoal is not recomended for Disus tanks. You can read about charcoal this on this forum. I may put a charcoal filter on for a short time.

good luck, Judi

mcgreg
03-18-2008, 06:44 PM