PDA

View Full Version : New and have question about my Coralife UV Sterilizer

lonetraveler
03-27-2008, 12:21 AM
Hi,

I've been in the hobby for about 5-6 years. I have a 90 gal African Cichlid tank (Frontosa and Calvus) that has been running for couple years.

I'm new to the discus community and there are no discus in the tank yet, just tetras. But I have a question before I add the discus.

I have a 55 gallon tank with an Ehiem 2026 Pro II and I have a Coralife 3x-9watt uv sterilizer in line with the filter.

The Coralife has a flow rate of 100-200 gph (rated up to 125 gal.) and the Ehiem has a flow of 250 gph (rated up to 92 gal). Will the water get the proper UV exposure with this set up?

Thanks for your help.

Graham
03-27-2008, 05:01 PM
Hi, Considering that this is on an aquarium and won't have tons of critters coming at it and the filter is probably turning over an average of a 150gph which is better than a 3x turnover of a 55 in an hour...it should work fine

Keep in mind that UV bulbs are only good for about 9 to 12 months of continous use and then need to be replaced.............

Do you need it at all ???............. not in my opinion

Graham

Apistomaster
03-27-2008, 05:50 PM
For maximum effects from the UV unit a couple of "T"'s could be used to create a side loop. The flow through the side loop should be controlled with a ball valve. The slower the flow the higher the dwell time in the UV unit and it will increase it efficacy to it's full potential.

Graham
03-27-2008, 06:47 PM
But, but, but, :) ....if you increase the efficancy to the point where you get total kill with a single pass through the unit... then the bad guys are multilplying faster in the aquarium than the UV has a chance to kill them...they win...

Joking aside...wattage, flow/dwell time have to be weighed off against each other. The bacteria and parasites have to be killed off faster than they are reproducing in the tank.