PDA

View Full Version : Water change question

MSD
04-17-2008, 11:16 AM
My tank water PH is around 6.0 to 6.4. I do my 30% water change from the tap each day and my tap water is about 8.2 ph. My question, I have checked the tank water one hour after the change and the PH goes up about 0.4, is the 8.2 water going into the 6.0 tank a shock to the fish? They look fine, go into the water to play when I fill it, and I have had no problems with this method. I'm just wondering if I should let the water age a day or will this easier method be OK?

A neurotic discus keeper......

Don Trinko
04-17-2008, 11:33 AM
I'm no expert but I think that as long as you add the water slowly and do not change a large % of water at WC you will be ok.
I am surprized that you tank water stay's in the 6 range with the daily wc of 8.2 water.
Some of the ph test kits do not measure the higher ph's accurately. ( very little color change fron 7.4 on up) I use a ph probe that I originaly got for my hot tub. You can also get ph/clorine test kits (got mine at Wallmart) that are meant for pools/hottubs and show larger color differences at the higher ph's. Don T.

MSD
04-17-2008, 01:57 PM
I should get a PH meter, much easier to check. I'm amazed too but I check the tanks and get 6.0 to 6.2, tap water turns the reagent blue which is 8 plus and I have a high reange kit. After an hour of the change the PH reads about 6.6 to 6.8, then the next day 6.0 again. Could be the bioload from the fish and the food, I do change about 30% each day. I was using Discus buffer from seachem, does it make sense to still use it to buffer the KH?

Apistomaster
04-18-2008, 05:20 PM
MSD wrote "I was using Discus buffer from seachem, does it make sense to still use it to buffer the KH?"