PDA

View Full Version : New To Discus

badisbadis101
05-09-2008, 06:01 PM
Wow - first post at a new forum:D Anyway, i am 15, and have kept many species of fish for pretty much ever. However, i have never kept discus, mainly because of the cost and supposed difficulty. However, i think i am ready to jump into the world of discus keeping.

I would like to acquire approximately 10 young discus (3" maybe) and eventually place them into a ~120 Gallon show tank. I understand that it is easier to raise them in a bare bottomed tank, without tankmates, and then place them into the show tank once they are mostly grown. If this is true, what size tank would be necessary to grow them out to the 4-5" mark, before placing them in the show tank? I have a spare 29 gallon, but i believe that would be too small for 10 growing discus.

Anyway, i have a few questions:
1. What temperature is best for growing out discus?
2. How many feedings a day are necessary? I am a student, so i am gone from 6:30 - 3:00 every day. is three feedings a day enough? (One before school, one after school, and then one in the evening (~8:00) )
3. I live in houston, and was considering buying from Gulf Coast Discus. Is this a good choice?
4. Are discus truly as difficult as they are made out to be?
5. I might want to breed these if a pair forms. Is their anything special to consider if you are raising breeding discus as opposed to show discus?
6. Water changes? How many, and what percent for raising? How bout for the show tank? In my other tanks, i perform 50% once a week, but i assume i would need more for discus.

Thanks for answering my probably basic questions. I cannot wait to explore these friendly and exciting looking forums :)

Don Trinko
05-09-2008, 06:23 PM
1. 84 to 86
2. 4 to 6 with a variety of foods
3. Don't know
4. Discus require warm temp, clean water, and good food. They do get sick from time to time so you will eventual become an amateur vet.