PDA

View Full Version : A "problem" with cycle... or not?

Abu
05-13-2008, 07:43 AM
Hi Everybody,

I'm kind of new to this hobby so I decided to ask for some help from you nice people.

A few words about my tank (I only have one): it's a Juwel Rio 300 (don't know if it's a known brand in US - anyway it has 350l gross volume) which comes with a standard internal filter, 300W heater and 2x54W light tubes on which I added reflectors. Besides the default setup I also run an external canister filter (Tetratec EX1200). The tank is not so much planted (a few Echinodorus bleheri, osiris, ozelot, some Crypts, Anubias) - you might call it a low-tech setup.

I started the tank 2 weeks ago with 8 Corries and 2 dozes of JBL FilterStart (this is a product which claims it contains live bacteria). After the first week my ammonia and nitrite test kits still didn't show anything so I decided to add an extra 8 cardinal tetras. Now, after 2 weeks, still nothing. All water parameters are OK, 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite, 20mg/l nitrate, PH 7, KH4.
I intend to buy some 8 juvenile Discus (2-2,5 inches) after about 3 weeks (from now) but I don't know how to proceed. Shall I buy all of them at once (knowing that they do better in groups) or buy 2 - 3 each week in order not to disturb my biological filter which hopefully exist?
Why can't I find any traces of ammonia or nitrite in my tank? Is it normal to take that long to cycle?

In case you wonder why I didn't choose the fishless cycle: here, where I live, it’s impossible to find pure ammonia.

Thank you all for your suggestions,
Alex.

BSW
05-13-2008, 08:00 AM
That is about a 100 gallon tank.
A two week set up, isn't long at all to cycle in 350L. And I would guess it probably still hasn't fully cycled yet. You haven't put a very heavy bio load on the tank so far. But you are saying you will wait about 3 more weeks to purchase the Discus. By then some good bacteria should be established.