PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed !

DavidH
05-23-2008, 10:02 AM
To make a short story long, hopefully not too long! I have been keeping discus for many years and breeding.
I transfered 9 4 to 5 inch discus into a used 130 gal tank. Had them in a 55 for months all healthy.
Had my older daughter clean the 130 (my mistake, didn't sterilize it), and probably brought some of the nasties with it.
Parameters of tank are fine. Within a week they all started to shimmy and flash.
Went thru a few different treatments without much luck.
Finally with enough pp, improvement, knocked out my bio but recovered quickly. After about 5 to 6 days shimmy and flashing started again.
So seems like if I repeated pp a few times it might solve the problem but I will definately lose my bio and I'm not home enough to do more than one 50% water change per day.
All fish are looking and eating great. I just hate to fix the problem and then have to fight the cycling process again with 9 larger discus.

Any ideas welcome, Thx in advance Dave.

kaceyo
05-23-2008, 04:35 PM
You can take the filter offline or remove the media for the time it takes to do the treatment as long as you don't leave it submerged in stagnent water.

Kacey

Graham
05-23-2008, 04:54 PM
Kacey that would be like storing the ''whatevers'' in the filter while the fish got cleaned up, only to introduce the ''whatever'' again.

David was this tank completely dry when you got it or did it still have a small amount of water in it. Not many parasites, that I can think of, can stand being dried:confused:.

Anyway...NH3 AND NO2 are easy to look after, so I wouldn't be too worried about the bio. I think that I would try a couple of different shot gun meds as the PP is knocking the ''whatever '' back but not out...

Quick Cure which is formalin and malachite green, or maybe even a copper based chem like Aquari-sol. These will stay in the water longer than the PP