PDA

View Full Version : Comments on new filter

juventino79
05-26-2008, 02:43 PM
Hello All

im planning to start a discus tank. This is my first attempt to discus.

I would like someone to give me input on my setup and tell me if this is ok.

Tank - ~80 Gallon

Filter -i was thinking of getting 2 aquaclear 70 as it will cost me more than half the price
of a decent canister filter. Does anyone suggest them or am i better to go with the canister
filter, if so which one. Keep in mind i have a budget of 200$ Canadian for the filter.

Substrate - 80 Lbs Regular Gravel - Estes Walnut or the river gravel kind

Decor
Silk Plants and some driftwood

Heater - 300 W

i was thinking of putting 5 young discus in there and growing them out to full size

dwilder
05-26-2008, 02:51 PM
aquaclear filters are fine canisters are nice but not necesary skip the gravel for the young discus and go bare bottom.atleast try a bare bottom tank for a couple of weeks and see how much waste is produced by the young fish and then think how much more difficult cleaning a tank full of gravel will be

juventino79
05-26-2008, 03:07 PM
you know when they say that optimum filtration is 4 to 8 times the size of the tank
so on an 80 Gallon it would be 320 to 640 Gph.

if i look at the specs for the aquaclear it says :
- Maximum Output: 1135 L/h (300 U.S. Gal./h)
- Full Flow Control: 378 L/h (100 U.S. Gal./h)

which of the two should i be looking at? Obviously if its the maximum im ok.

digthemlows
05-26-2008, 11:42 PM
can you get an AC 110 and a eheim 2217 for that?? or just a 2217.........otherwise I'd get a AC110 and a large sponge and go bare bottom for sure!

kaceyo
05-27-2008, 12:08 AM
Personaly I don't care for canister filters as they are a hassle to clean and use up oxygen. With a HOB like the AquaClears you can remove the media for cleaning ina matter of seconds and the water fall return helps to oxygenate the water.