PDA

View Full Version : My first discus! - not eating

New to discus
06-04-2008, 09:05 PM
I need some help.I have been keeping fish for 15 years and 6 days ago I obtained my first discus.

58 gallon
5 discus, 3 inches big.
Temp 31 degrees,
nitrite 0,
nitrate 0,
ammonia 0.
15% WC every other day.
PH 6.8

The tank has been cycled for 6 months, fully planted, substrate, wood. Some cory's and cardinal tetra's etc.

The tank is suspended from the ceiling, is visible from both sides and hangs in our office. I previously posted about this tank and the response was that the discus could handle it.

To date the discus have not eaten much/at all. Over the last few days some of them have started picking at food but they seem to be spitting it out. They are swimming out in the open about 50% of the time, the other 50% they stay close to the wood and plants. They have good color (although one of them is a little paler then when I first got him/her). Their fins are erect most of the time. The fish seem to bicker amongst themselves without actually beating up on each other. The fish are a bit thin, slightly sunken stomach's. They are beathing a bit faster than I think they should be but I think that may be because I have the temp at 32 (less oxygen in hotter water). One of them had a dark brown poop, some of the others have had white stringy pooh. The fish have basically looked this way since I bought them.

A few days after I got them an airconditioning issue at our office dropped the temp from 30 to 25 overnight, I have this fixed now but got an ick outbreak 4 days as a result. The ick is pretty much gone today (only one white spot left) partly because I raised the temp to 32.

I have noticed the fish shuddering every now and then (lasts only a few seconds). One of the fish (subordinate) has turned a little paler and seems to every now and then tip over a bit.