PDA

View Full Version : Aged Water for water changes?

gmccreedy
06-24-2008, 10:48 PM
Hello all,

I am a newbie to these forums (although active on many other fish related forums) and have a question regarding some comments I see scattered throughout these forums regarding "aged" water for water changes.

What is the real premise for this? Is it just temperature stability that is the goal? Is it just the convenience of having the water ready to go without having to deal with dechlorinating and having to temp control the inflow? Are there other benefits that I am missing?

I personally do not have discus yet, but am doing my homework to get there.

I have a 72 gallon setup now thats running its cycle. I have a water changer setup that is doing two 10% water changes daily. I refill with split tap (run through carbon) and RO water without temp control and I only really see a minor drop in temp (maybe 2 degrees) for a short period of time. Should this be a serious concern when I do finally get Discus?

Do I really need to think about aging water for some reason?

Thanks in advance to any guidance you can give me.

White Worm
06-24-2008, 11:02 PM
Also stability of pH with temp. Most like that they can make all the adjustments to their water and check things before it enters the discus tank. I just use tap water and prime. It just depends on your water. Dont sweat a couple degrees difference.

gmccreedy
06-24-2008, 11:06 PM
Thanks for the quick reply.

I inject CO2 (its a planted tank) for my pH target levels (and is controlled by an aquacontroller). I have pretty hard water, thus the reason I am cutting the tap with RO water and I was targeting a kH of about 4ish.

So, I am assuming if that is really all it is, I may be fine? LOL.

White Worm
06-24-2008, 11:22 PM
yep

Rod
06-27-2008, 08:22 PM