PDA

View Full Version : How to help the super senstive discus?

happyniu
07-15-2008, 01:42 PM
I have a 4" discus that's super sensitive. every time i turn on the light it freaks out and start swimming like crazy.. sometimes it will swim into the glass and hurt itself.. needless to say that he/she makes every one else nervese.. including me!! i put a blankt over the tank so that it can't see the people walking around the tank. but i can't see my fish any more either.. kinds defeats th purpose of have a show tank...

what can i do to ease its anxioty??

mikel
07-16-2008, 06:45 AM
Hi Hapy: I would do several things, but note that I am not very experienced. Given that discus are relative shy and sensitive to begin with...

1) Try not to provide too bright a lighting for the whole tank.
2) what's your water readings? Is it neutral or slightly acidic?
3) How many discus are in your tank? How big is the tank? At least five is best. Where is he/she on the discus hierarchy? Top or bottom member?
4) If bare bottom, you might try some clay pots with plastic plants (ykes!) to give him some place to hide (and still relative ease in care, since you cannot kill plastic plants). The reverse psychology is that if you provide hiding places, he/she will be assured and more confident.
5) make sure your water change regiment is as good as possible. No such thing as too often. Like a more experience member noted...it's all in the water for discus!!!!!

Good luck to you. mike

happyniu
07-16-2008, 01:35 PM
i have a 100 gal with 15 2"-4" discus in there. mostly 2". i also have drift wood and plants in here. i haven't tested the water yet.. but i should do that!! they hide behide the wood around the bottom. not all of them hide though.. only one of my discus do that and i am pretty sure he/she is healthy. just shy~~
thanks mike~

geleen
07-16-2008, 02:15 PM