PDA

View Full Version : Lighting requirements to bring out discus colour

ojdewet
07-28-2008, 07:04 AM
Hi there I hope that someone can give me some advice as I recently started a discus tank so I am new to the hobby.

What are the best fluerescent light options to bring out the colour of discus? I used to have a marine tank and there were very specific light frequencies I used on my coral to bring out the colour - any recommendations for discus? I find that the normal fluerescent I use does not do my fish justice...

Regards
OJ

Ed13
07-28-2008, 08:27 PM
Hi there I hope that someone can give me some advice as I recently started a discus tank so I am new to the hobby.

What are the best fluerescent light options to bring out the colour of discus? I used to have a marine tank and there were very specific light frequencies I used on my coral to bring out the colour - any recommendations for discus? I find that the normal fluerescent I use does not do my fish justice...

Regards
OJ
It's kinda the same for discus, I'm afraid that trial and error targeted at what you have(color wise of the discus) and what you want to see is needed.
If I had to give you an advice is that you'll need multiple bulbs. I would start by having a high kelvin pink bulbs(8,000k or higher if they are pink) then adding as needed like maybe full spectrum(5,000k-7,000K), for most tanks this should be good enough. If needed to increase blue based colors try 10,000k-12,000k or for rich green/yellow/red/orange colors try 3,000k-4,500k. You may end up having one of each, who knows!

Personally, I could never achieve the look I wanted with just one bulb/color. The pink bulbs were close but they drowned greens, so I add a 3,000k bulb, but then I lose blues so....you get the idea. I always needed to have multiple tubes to achieve what I wanted.

Just my opinion.

ojdewet
07-29-2008, 02:00 AM