PDA

View Full Version : BBA - problem

Sokoly
08-06-2008, 09:31 AM
Dear friends, I have a 5 mounth set tank that is ment to house some wilds in the future. By the time they arrive I put some plants to make it more alive. The tank is 145 gallons, has 4 x 80W T5, preassurised CO2 with a PH controller coming very soon, the substrate is a JBL proflora fertiliser, and it's covered with a silica sand. Although I recently 4 weeks ago started to use the PMDD algae are still present. The problem is I had to through a few beautifull plants because they were all covered in that ....
Fish inhabitants are about 20 cardinals,
8 Corydoras sterbae
8 Otocinclus
14 Amano shrimps
4 Baryacintrus or (L018)
7 Corydoras panda
If you have any advices or experiances please feel free to share.

paletka
08-06-2008, 12:04 PM
you have to put a lot more plants to utilize (what is produce by fish; light 7 CO2)

Chris

KimR
08-06-2008, 01:17 PM
I agree with Chris, altho I am no expert, but I think you need more plants, IMO (in my opinion) if there isn't enough plant ratio to fish and of course lighting and CO2, then you a) get algae, b) not the best plant growth. There are some good algae cleaners, bristlenose plec, ottos (which you have) & amano shrimp.

alan j t
08-06-2008, 02:45 PM
i had the same problems before ,the bba was all over
it sarted to happen when i added more light to my tank
i wanted more growth so i bought more light
the the bba started to creep slowly and using flourish excel alot was getting expensive and dangerous to my fish if a mishap was ever present
cut the light
my tank had 4 t-5 bulbs over the tank and left 2 off for like 4 weeks
the plants were fine and the bba slowly died
then after all the bs was over i put the lights on timer and the tank was given a siesta daily about 1 hr
this was just my experience
so i would either cut the lights or add more plants to soak up the excess nutients to win the battle against the evil algea:D

Sokoly
08-06-2008, 04:52 PM