PDA

View Full Version : Can you identify my discus?

Marfie
09-15-2008, 07:44 PM
Hi everyone! I'm new to discus and only got some small ones a few weeks ago. I'll appreciate it if you were able to identify them. I have a video of them on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pioiHwYtbzE .Thx!!!:)

Ryan
09-16-2008, 12:19 PM
Hi,

The three orange fish with the black peppering are a form of pigeon blood. The striated fish with the blue and red appears to be a red turquoise variant.

It looks like you're going to need a bigger tank. Also, what's your temperature? I ask because I see gouramis and mollies and they may not appreciate the temp if it's too warm.

Ryan

MSD
09-16-2008, 12:51 PM
Feisty discus, amazing how much peppering plants bring out in PB's. Tank is overcrowded and no swimming room for the fish with all those ornaments. Discus are not a community tank fish as you will soon see.

Marfie
09-16-2008, 12:54 PM
I know I'm going to have to move them to a larger tank soon. The water temperature is about 82-86 degrees depending on the outside temperature. It seems as though the gouramis and mollies have become adjusted to the water temperature which I increased slowly over a period of two weeks. Thanks for your input!

Marfie.

deanne
09-16-2008, 11:54 PM
The red ones (esp. the one at upper right at the end of the video) look like my red melon. It has a black tail and fin edges, too.

That charging behavior is weird, huh? Two of my discus go head-to-head a lot of the time.

Nice looking tank! I was fond of filling my tank with natural looking stuff and a variety of different fish, too, until I started keeping discus. Now I'm pulling out more and more of my big driftwood and leaving a lot more empty space and bare sand. Also going for the simple look of a crowd of discus and almost nothing else. But I like your tank for its diversity, too.

d

Marfie
09-17-2008, 06:50 AM