PDA

View Full Version : dying discus

miasria
09-29-2008, 01:55 PM
i'm new to discus, but not new to fish. i had 7 discus in a 55 gallon tank. watching the ph, changing water, etc. i've had these fish for a month or so and they seemed to be doing fine. one was littler than the other two from the same batch though.

this past weekend i did a thorough cleaning of the bottom and may have taken too much water out. needless to say, i lost two of the little ones. maybe 2 inches. the rest are 4 inches or so.

what i don't understand is that after the water change, my ph dropped significantly and i don't know why. i checked my tap water and it was much higher than what ended up in my tank.

my nitrates, nitrites, amonia were all good. the ph is what dropped. i noticed that the little ones started to get dark in color so i bought a ph stablizer. this morning they were dead.

the others seem to be fine and are eating well. there were 3 that were from the same batch. one was smaller than the other two, which may have been do to being weak anyways. i'm not sure on that.

any ideas?

09-29-2008, 02:09 PM
If you could post exactly what your Ammonia,nitrite and nitrate readings are and what type of test kit you are using Strips or liquid then perhaps it would help eliminate or identify any possible problems. I will say that sometimes when the gravel is cleaned really well and perhaps has not been done in sometime that very high nitrates can be the results. Test kits that use strips are not that accurate.

Moon
09-29-2008, 04:52 PM
Did you age the water before doing water change?

DiscusDude85
09-29-2008, 06:32 PM