PDA

View Full Version : Confession and experience of an idiot...

Sandip
10-01-2008, 12:36 PM
When i was studying the books on discus keeping, some devil inside me said that i need to raise a few babies to see if i can. Experimenting with live fishes is bad, but the devil inside me won. I started keeping discus around a fortnight back. It was not a moments decision. I studied a lot about discus keeping and then bought these babies. My aim was to grow babies in to giants! I had a approx 22 gallon very very old tank lying vacant at our lobby for years. I decided to grow discus in that tank. With all the bookish and “internet” knowledge i started to look for discus babies. To my surprise most of the retailers were selling only grown up discus in kolkata. Very few were actually selling juveniles!
There is a big time fish seller in kolkata named LALA. He is famous for selling costly fishes. And this man is famous for selling discus.
So i went to the Sunday Morning Fish market in kolkata and asked for juvenile discus from LALA. He showed me few 1 inch discus. After seeing them i asked him if i can see his actual stocking tank(after all thats what all the books and knowledgeable people advices). So he gave me his address. After i went there he showed me a 3.5 feet tank, where there were more than 100 discus babies of average 1inch size. All of them very pale in colour. Fins clamped. Few dead fishes were floating too! I was asked to select from among these. Initially i thought i will not buy, but later someone inside me reminded “this is the storage tank of one of the most famous retailers in kolkata, u will find the same condition if not worse at others places too”.
So i decided to buy four.