PDA

View Full Version : What do you do with a Bully

Dave27
10-03-2008, 05:07 PM
I have 8 3.5" discus in a 50 gallon tank and 1 fish chases at random the other fish and nips at them. I don't see any damage, he just bullies them around. Like a dog herding sheep.

Is this normal and do I need to do anything about it?

sharkscott2
10-03-2008, 06:03 PM
I have 6 that are 3-3.5 inches, and have a similar situation. It typically involves food and I have 2 that do the bullying. Although neither can successfully bully the others enough to prevent them from eating. I believe it's normal behavior for Discus but would love to hear others answers. These are my first discus so I have no experience to speak from.

Palue
10-04-2008, 04:52 PM
I am new to Discus but use to breed Angels a few years back. One thing to remember is they are still cichlids. I don't think it matters if you have 2,5,8,etc there will always be a bully of the group.

As long as there is no tearing of fins I would just make sure that they are all getting food.

Do you plan on keeping all 8 of them??

I have also found (in my opinion) that a lightly planted tank seems to help somewhat. They pick away at the gravel, wood and plants to keep them occupied. I only have the 2 Discus but the big one likes to bully the smaller one at times but the little one is very bold and will go after the big one so all is even in the end.

I have also found out that Discus are much more friendly to their counterparts and don't shred each othe like Angels do.

:D

sharkscott2
10-05-2008, 11:17 AM
Mine actually don't go for the fins. They tend to bite at the side of the body or right on the forehead.

Palue
10-05-2008, 02:03 PM
Then spank him.....:D

Just kidding, do they do any damage or are they just touching them??

:angel:

susantroy1
10-05-2008, 03:22 PM
Dave