PDA

View Full Version : Discus newbie

zamboniMan
10-05-2008, 12:49 AM
So i'm new to discus fish. I got my first pair this morning. I spent most of the day acclimating them. When I last checked they seem to have settled in pretty well. Anything to watch for in the first week or two?

*Polka dots roc*
10-05-2008, 11:26 AM
Hi Welcome to simply.:)
I'm not an expert but I would say watch that their feces is brown not white and that they are eating. Also that they show no other signs of sickness. Other than that I'd say enjoy them

zamboniMan
10-05-2008, 04:37 PM
They didn't eat this morning which really isn't surprising as I only got them yesterday afternoon. Right now they're hiding between the back of the aquarium and the driftwood I have in there not really doing anything except sitting.

*Polka dots roc*
10-05-2008, 07:27 PM
it will probably take quite a few days. How big is the tank?

DiscusDude85
10-05-2008, 09:12 PM
Most important, Is your tank fully cycled? If not your in for a rough ride my friend. How long has the tank been setup? What kind of filtration are you working with? Bare bottom or planted tank? How are you planning your water change regiments? Do you have a good storage tank and heater to age the new water for a water change? DO ALOT OF RESEARCH!. Im learning every day and im hooked on this website. I try to hang on every word i read here. Read every single piece of info possible, This will make your discus love you!
Let us know some tank parameters. Nitrates, Nitrites,Ammonia,ph.

Joe

zamboniMan
10-05-2008, 09:53 PM
30 Gallons set up 3 months about halfway planted (20 some plants now more plants comming in 2 weeks)
Also a nice piece of driftwood in the center.
have a aquaclear 30 (i think) and an emperor 250 bio wheel and a UV Sterilizer (Helps with algae if nothing else).
I also have 4 large airstones which are on all the time for extra airation.
Temperature = 83.0 F