PDA

View Full Version : Cycled gravel bottom or uncycled bare?

Fishfanatic
10-14-2008, 12:12 AM
I plan on purchasing (6) 3-3.5" Discus next week and have a question. Should I grow them out in a fully cycled 70 gallon aquarium with a sand substrate or a bare bottom 55 gallon? I plan on regular water changes either way I go.

Is it correct to assume that everyone's BB tank is not cycled because of the lack of substrate? I know the beneficial bacteria live on the sponge filters, etc, but also thought the substrate provided more surface area for the bacteria to multiply.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Oh and one last question. Does a 50% water change daily seem like a good starting point or should I just monitor the water parameters and decide how much to change then?

kirkp
10-14-2008, 12:42 AM
I'm not an expert on this but my guess is that the majority of responses will recommend growing them out in a bare bottom tank.

As to a tank being cycled or not. The lack of substrate has nothing to do with a tank being cycled. It has to do with the development of a sufficient number of biological organisms to treat the waste generated by the fish. In a BB tank, this would be on the filter material such as a sponge filter or power filter. While there would be some of those organisms on the gravel surface, as long as the filter capacity is adequate for the tank, the gravel being gone will be of little consequence. This all assumes that you wouldn't be running a undergravel filter. In this case, the gravel acts as the filter and the oxygenated water passing through the gravel feeds the aerobic organisms which live on the gravel. It's late so I hope this makes sense.