PDA

View Full Version : Eggs on heater?

kpotter2
10-27-2008, 09:07 PM
Hello, I was just wondering how long I should let my young pair of PB discus take care of fried eggs on a heater. Should I pull the heater with eggs and let them start over. I put another heater in on its side and was letting them take care of the spawn to see what they would do. They are taking good care of the bad eggs. What does anyone think I should do? This is ther first spawn in my tank I bought them from someone else.

Thanks

kyle

kenhappen2u
10-27-2008, 09:16 PM
i am no expert but .....if it were me i would turn off the heater with the egg's and put another heater in the tank for the time being . as long as perents are taking care of the egg's i would just let them be .

hope this helps ....Ken

dwilder
10-27-2008, 09:27 PM
scrape off the eggs give them something else to spawn on

kpotter2
10-27-2008, 09:59 PM
Thank you much!

Ken I did put another heater in there right away! I will see what other say also. Because right now I have one say take them out and another saying leave them in!

kyle

kenhappen2u
10-27-2008, 10:45 PM
Kyle ...like i said i am NO expert . i am sure dwilder knows what he is talking about . i was just trying to help . good luck with what ever you do . peace!

Ken

MostlyDiscus
10-28-2008, 11:12 AM
Have to agree with Ken on this. Let the eggs be. The parents will clean off the site when they are ready to spawn again, and they will. Ed

G550
10-28-2008, 12:50 PM
then turn your heater horizontal so they dont lay eggs on it again. Its frustrating watching your eggs scrammble on the heater.
good luck:angel:

kpotter2
10-28-2008, 05:21 PM
Kyle ...like i said i am NO expert . i am sure dwilder knows what he is talking about . i was just trying to help . good luck with what ever you do . peace!

Ken