PDA

View Full Version : How fast will my discus grow?

Joshcat
11-19-2008, 11:05 PM
My wife and I have recently purchased 8 discus and are feeding them 5 to 6 times daily. Can anyone tell me how fast discus grow?

Eddie
11-19-2008, 11:31 PM
Depends on many issues, water quality, WCs, diet, genetics, strain, tank size and contents of tank(tank mates) and I forgot...overall health. Sorry I can't give you a definite answer

Eddie

Joshcat
11-19-2008, 11:56 PM
They are in a 55 gal bare bottom tank. My water PH is 7.5, KH 3, and GH is 7. I do daily 25% water changes. I keep my tank at 86F. I feed my discus 5 to 6 times a day. They are fed once with frozen boodworms, once with frozen brine shirmp, once with ciclid pellets, and twice with ciclid flakes. My tank is strickly a discus tank.

Eddie
11-20-2008, 12:13 AM
8 in a 55 is a bit tight, how big are they?

Joshcat
11-20-2008, 12:19 AM
They are only 2 to 2.5 inch discus.

Eddie
11-20-2008, 12:46 AM
I am not an expert but I've read that it takes about 9 months for fish to grow fully and thats just a wag. So if you have your fish in the best conditions possible, your fish should grow close to a .5 in a month. Now again, that is pretty fast and others will get different results. It is totally situational and really depends on the quality of the fish and the conditions mentioned above. You seem to have everything under control. Personally I would change more water but thats just me. I have a 55 with 6 fish and I'm hitting 75% daily. I guess 100% would be even better but I'm still waiting for this months water bill! HAHAHA LOL:D

Eddie

Joshcat
11-20-2008, 03:04 PM
Thanks for the info!

allan_mark76
11-20-2008, 03:18 PM
I would start doing a beef heart mix in your feedings and start doing over 50%water changes. You could also bump up your temp to 88* to increase appetite.

~AKA~

kaceyo
11-20-2008, 03:46 PM