PDA

View Full Version : 7ft tank - How many Discus? How often to clean?

ujwaldignified
11-29-2008, 05:27 PM
I am thinking of getting a tank made for my new discuses.
I can make of any size till 7ft.
This is my first time with Discus though i have kept Flowerhorns, different cichlids and starting with gold fishes long back, now since 15 years.
1. Please get me a best tank size for 6 to 10 Discuses. (You suggest with how many shud i start off with for the first time. Water chemistry & nitrogen cycle is nothing new for me)
2. How many times in a week wud i need to change the water when the tanks are huge?
3. How many sponge filter will i have to use along with the Hang on Aqua clear?
4. Is it adviceble to go for big tanks and 6 to 10 discuses as a beginner?
Thank you in advance.
:)

plecocicho
11-29-2008, 08:07 PM
My poit of wiew:
7feet tank is a whole something like 700 to 800 liters. That is a huge amount of water.
Keep in mind to give one adult discus 60 liters of water (that is almost twice of general 10gal per fish). Make a diy compartment filter, that is app. 20% of tank volume. Buy semiadults as those do not need to be fed heavilly. Feed them dry food, fd and frozen food. You do not need them feeding bf as this kind of fed is a main cause for heavy daily wcs. You can feed them earthworms instead, just clean their guts. Use also floating plants as they will suck nutrients (pistia). You can easilly keep 10n discus in such aquarium

grandrapids9
11-30-2008, 05:38 PM