PDA

View Full Version : New Member with Questions!

DLock3d
12-19-2008, 11:56 AM
Hi All,

My name is Dan and I live in Dallas, Texas. I'm 25, well my 25th birthday is tomorrow and this is my first post! YAY! I've recently purchased 6 Discus for my 55 gallon tank from Al at RockyMountainDiscus.com. Of course, as many of you have noted on different threads the Discus I received from Al are gorgeous. Although I've raised fish for most of my life, for all intensive purposes this is my first time having Discus. I had a few 10 years ago but I was too young and distracted to really know what was going on.

I've done, what I'd consider, enough reading to raise them successfully but I still have questions that I haven't exactly been able to find answers to. Feel free to make this a sticky for other beginners if any of you admins see fit. My tank consists of 12 Columbian tetra, 2 regular plecos, 6 corys, 3 Hi-form Brilliant Blues and 3 Royal Turq's. The tank has two Emperor 500's, about an inch of gravel on the bottom, 4-5 plants and several small pieces of driftwood that give them hiding space in the center of the tank.

I feed the tank a combination of hikari blood worms and Omega One flakes.

My tank water is great with a PH of 6.0 - 6.2 temp at 84, nitrate , nitrite, ammonia all within acceptable ranges (extremely close to 0) and soft water. I purchased RO water from the LFS.

Now for the questions...

1.) What is the purpose of changing water daily/weekly if my water conditions do not change and everything remains in safe ranges?

2.) I've heard mixed things on cory cats being tank mates for Discus. Al strongly spoke against them and I feel guilty for even asking this again but so far they haven't seemed to affect the Discus. Will my fish NOT pair off with cory tank mates? What are the advantages and disadvantages of corys with Discus short of food stealing...