PDA

View Full Version : Sand vs Rocks

thebigone
12-27-2008, 06:26 AM
I have bought a 150 gallon tank and was thinking about putting sand in this one instead of rocks. I currently have a 125 gallon with a rock bottom. I was wanting to know to pros and cons of sand vs rocks for the bottom gravel. Also I have never used a under gravel filter before and one came with the tank, if you have any advise on this as well it will be greatly appreciated. I will have 2 aqua clear 110s on the 150 gallon. I will be taken the 125 down and moving my fish. Thanks for any input.

Eddie
12-27-2008, 06:34 AM
Don't use the UG filter! Not recommended and I would advise to stay away from them. They do a great job but not in a Discus tank. They trap alot of crap! The pros about gravel is it is easier to clean without getting any sucked up. Sand gets sucked up very easy. I do like using silica sand, it is a bit larger particle than regular sand. What else will you be having in the tank? What is the tank for? Growout or for fully grown discus? Planted or no plants. Lots of things to consider when deciding on sand or gravel.

Eddie

thebigone
12-27-2008, 06:46 AM