PDA

View Full Version : How do discus get stunted?

CammieTime
01-02-2009, 06:39 PM
What are the ways a discus can get stunted? I am curious so I don't do it to my fish, I'm relatively new to this.

If you buy them stunted, is there anything you can do to fix it?

What does being stunted do to the fish in the long run? Why is it so bad?

Triadtropz
01-02-2009, 07:32 PM
lack of proper diet, water changes, disease, these could all be reasons for stunting,..If you feed discus a varied diet, and change lots of water. you wont have to worry,..

01-03-2009, 06:29 AM
I suspect genetics could play a part as well as the afore mentioned.

CammieTime
01-03-2009, 01:28 PM
So what do you do with a stunted discus?

Eddie
01-03-2009, 01:40 PM
Keep'em if your just a hobbyist like me! They have their own tank

Not all fish will develop uniformly, not from just having a dozen or so Discus. Some will grow slow or not show as much color. For me, thats the facts of life. I can only get LFS discus and thats what I have to deal with. I wish I could get some quality fish here in Okinawa.
Eddie

Leopardshark
01-12-2009, 12:40 PM
Hello,
Iīm new to this... and donīt know what "stunted" means.
Can anyone explain it to me?
regards

pcsb23
01-12-2009, 12:59 PM
I suspect genetics could play a part as well as the afore mentioned.Stunting is due to care not genetics. Runting or small size is down to genetics. There is a difference between stunting and small sized discus in as much the discus that is small sized may be as big as it possibly could be, a stunted discus is one that has suffered because of poor care and has therefore not grown to it's potential.

So what do you do with a stunted discus?That is up to you :) Just because it is stunted doesn't mean it can't be used say in a breeding context. They can still be healthy fish.

Hello,
Iīm new to this... and donīt know what "stunted" means.
Can anyone explain it to me?