PDA

View Full Version : Help me please! Cloudy eye discus!

Jenster
01-19-2009, 12:14 AM
Hi, my name is Jenn and I am new here to this forum. I have been keeping discus for about 3 or 4 years now. Currently I have six discus in a 55 gallon aquarium: Red Turk, Red Scribble, Blue Diamond, Royal Blue and two Pigeon Bloods. The largest is around 3.5 inches. In with them are three Cardinal Tetras and a Cory Cat (I had two but lost one ever since this epidemic). The tank has been up for almost a year now. I have been checking my parameters and all are fine as of now: Nitrate 0, Nitrite 0, Ammonia 0.

So let me fill you in an what happened. About a week ago I did my typical weekly 20% water change and all seemed fine. Then the next morning I woke to find all six of my discus in the corner of the tank dark with clouded eyes and a white slime on thier sides. Even though they were in this condition they were still eating.

So right away I checked my parameters and noticed that my ammonia was higher than it should be. So I did water changes and brought it back down to where it should be, 0. Things seemed to be getting better, thier eyes were clearing up and the slime was going away.

Well the day after the last water change all the symptoms were back and were much worse. This time their eyes were totally white, not cloudy and the "film" was actually flakey and was sticking out from their eyes. The slime on thier sides was also back and the fish wouldn't come out to eat. I contacted numberous fish people including many LFS and a breeder for help and decided to follow the least invasive treatment which was doing 20% water changes and treating with Melafix at a high temp of 90 degrees. I assumed and was told that this was probably a bacterial infection that occured after the fish became vounerable after the ammonia burns.