PDA

View Full Version : First time owner

cmich
01-23-2009, 08:53 PM
Hey everyone,
My name is Blake and I just bought my first two discus. I'm a student at Central Michigan University and have kept planted tanks for a few years. I'm really excited and can't wait to experiance all of the joys of owning discus. I have two small turquoise discus about 2 1/2 inches. I'll post some pictures once they get used to the tank.

rickztahone
01-23-2009, 10:52 PM
welcome to simply discus

Mr Wild
01-23-2009, 11:15 PM
Hi there and welcome.
I am sure you will enjoy this forum and the help and friendliness of everyone on here. Good luck with your fish and enjoy. Remember discus LOVE clean water!

poconogal
01-24-2009, 09:33 AM
Welcome to SD! I know you'll love keeping Discus, they are addicting! With only 2 Discus though, you may end up with one beating up the other and eventually causing its death (there are the exceptions but for the most part more is better). If you have 3 Discus, one or two will bully the third, cause its death, then you have 2, and the same thing happens. With Discus, who are shoaling fish, its best to keep a minimum of 5 to spread out aggression, especially among juvies and sub adults. Once they are adults, they are usually less aggressive with each other, but not always. If you have room in your tank, I'd get at least 3 more.

Don Trinko
01-24-2009, 12:48 PM
I have has several groups of 4 that worked ok. I now have only 2 in one tank that were raised in a group of 4. They get along fine and have never spawned but I think it is because they were raised together. Have fun; Don T.

cmich
01-25-2009, 10:14 PM
Thanks everyone. I plan on having five in the tank soon. As a college student my funds are fairly limited. Although, any money I do have tends to go to my fish tank. It's only a matter of time before I have a few more discus to add to my tank. I would just like to find quality similarly sized discus.