PDA

View Full Version : Discus size , feeding and dechloride water

Francis
02-04-2009, 12:37 PM
Hi,I am new in discus keeping. I am full time working and maxmium I can feed discus is 3 times a day 8am, 6pm and 10pm. What is the minimum fish size for me to grow discus without the risk of stunt? With this feeding regime, is it possible to grow two and half inches dicus to 5-6 inch adult?
Also I do 25% wc twice a week. The water is hard and comes staight from mixed tap(82F) without noticing any abnormal behaviour from fish. Nearly everyone tell me I should at least use aged tap water. So I just bought a water tank and plan to buy a garden pump to pump the aged water. Is it realy that important to use dechloride water if you do not change much each time?

Tank 48x18x15" Heavily planted tank with good growth of the plants 2x 3 inch discus (and few guppy and cory) this moment but plan to have 4 more juvenil discus

Cheers
Francis

Graham
02-04-2009, 01:13 PM
Hi Francis you should always use a de-chlorinator made for either chlorine or chloramine depending on what's in your water. Chloramine is very stable and will last well over a week.

Water companies also vary the amounts of each they use depending on the time of the year and the weather. So what chlorine might have dissapated/gassed off last week may last much longer this week.

Better safe that sorry

General stocking rule 1 fish per 10 gallons...so you've got a 55 so 5.5 fish :)

Chad Hughes
02-04-2009, 03:02 PM
Hi,I am new in discus keeping. I am full time working and maxmium I can feed discus is 3 times a day 8am, 6pm and 10pm. What is the minimum fish size for me to grow discus without the risk of stunt? With this feeding regime, is it possible to grow two and half inches dicus to 5-6 inch adult?