PDA

View Full Version : Quick Quarantine Questions - new discus

robby ram
02-07-2009, 07:58 PM
During quarantine period..

1) Do you treat them with medication as preventive methods?
a) If so, what type of medicine do you use?
b) If medicine is being used, do you follow the whole instructions the same way we treat sick discus?

2) How long is the maximum weeks to quarantine new discus?

I am still learning and more inputs are gladly appreciated.

Thanks.

Eddie
02-07-2009, 08:01 PM
Depends on where they come from, wild caught or breeder. Just monitor them.

a) If so, what type of medicine do you use?
If no symptoms of anything and hearty, none.

b) If medicine is being used, do you follow the whole instructions the same way we treat sick discus?
If you medicate, best to follow the directions. Some meds are stronger and some are easier on discus so depends on the med.

2) How long is the maximum weeks to quarantine new discus?
6 weeks minimum

Eddie

robby ram
02-07-2009, 08:05 PM
Depends on where they come from, wild caught or breeder. Just monitor them.
--

I just got mine from a breeder.

--

Eddie
02-07-2009, 08:15 PM
Well then just watch them. No use in medicating an otherwise healthy fish for no reason.

The reason to monitor them is to observe any issues that could have arisen from the stress of transport.

Eddie

robby ram
02-07-2009, 08:21 PM
Can you identify my new discus if they are stunted or not? I will upload the pic.

I am still learning.

Eddie
02-07-2009, 08:24 PM
Can you identify my new discus if they are stunted or not? I will upload the pic.

I am still learning.

Alot of people can identify a stunted fish. Eye size is the surefire way to identify a stunted fish.

Eddie

robby ram
02-07-2009, 08:30 PM
http://i375.photobucket.com/albums/oo192/akil98/IMG_2111.jpg
http://i375.photobucket.com/albums/oo192/akil98/IMG_2112.jpg

Eddie
02-07-2009, 09:29 PM
Hey Robby,