PDA

View Full Version : Bloat after Metro???

Yassmeena
02-17-2009, 01:02 PM
Hey everyone,

You may remember that one of my discus stopped eating and had white stringy poop. I finished a 10-day metro treatment at 92F on Saturday.

Since friday the discus has been bloated - at least it seems like bloat because his belly area is protruded. I am not sure what to do...

I have been adding epsom salt for 4 days now, no result. However, the fish did finally start eating (first time in 3 weeks) upon the first treatment with Epsom salt.

For now, the temp is still at 92 F, and I am still adding epsom. The fish seems to eat a little more each day, although it's appetite is not as strong as it was pre-illness.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Yasmin

waters10
02-17-2009, 01:39 PM
I'm no expert by any means, but I remember reading that bloated with no results after epsom salt, could mean bacteria infection. I bought kanamycin just for these cases, but never had to use it.

Wait for someone more experienced to chime in before doing anything though.

Al M.
02-17-2009, 03:19 PM
First of all bring that temp. slowly back to normal 84 or so, if its bacterial witch it sounds like high heat will only make it worse.....you can go with Kanamycin or Oxy tetracycline ....

Yassmeena
02-17-2009, 03:25 PM
First of all bring that temp. slowly back to normal 84 or so, if its bacterial witch it sounds like high heat will only make it worse.....you can go with Kanamycin or Oxy tetracycline ....

What exactly makes it sound bacterial out of curiosity?

EDIT: btw I don't have Kanamycyn, but would Furan II be just as good? I have that...

waters10
02-17-2009, 04:20 PM
What exactly makes it sound bacterial out of curiosity?

EDIT: btw I don't have Kanamycyn, but would Furan II be just as good? I have that...