PDA

View Full Version : couple eats eggs

polymer
03-05-2009, 10:55 AM
hi
i am new to this forum, but i have visited it for some time. I am also new to breeding discus, but have kept them for a while. I tried to form coupes for some months with some success and a few months ago I a saw a "confirmed couple" couple in a community aquarium at a pet shop and bought it. It was a confirmed couple since I saw the female laying eggs and the fertilizing them and defending them from the other fish in the tank.
The couple is formed by a blue cobalt female and a snake skin male.
Well, 15 days after I brought them home they laid eggs, but i freaked out and thought the eggs were getting bad and added meth. blue to the water, what made them eat the eggs right away. A week later they laid eggs again and they raised the fry wthout any problems whatsoever. I have now about 40 discus fry around 1/2-3/4" that are doing great and are fed only on dry food right now. I lost almost ten one night that I left the sponge filter off by mistake.
A week after I removed the fish from the parents they laid eggs again and I thought things were gong to flow smoothly like the previous time, however on the second day they eate almost all eggs and left only 12 or so, which were eaten on the third day. I had not changed anything and my water parameters were OK, conductivity 105microsiemens, ph around 6.8. The only thing that might be diferent is that now I am using a sponge filter and before I was using a small trickle filter. The cone I used was the same as before.
I thought that egg eating couples would only eat their first spawns but when they get into track i would have thought that they would go ahead and raise the fry.

I would appreciate any comments on this.
Best

Chad Hughes
03-05-2009, 11:03 AM