PDA

View Full Version : Aquaterra background experiences?

Patr1ck
03-10-2009, 04:25 AM
All of you who have had experience with those aquaterra 3d backgrounds please post them here. Anybody have problems with them fading or the paint coming off? What about plecos doing damage to them? Feel free to post all opinions on them. They look really cool.

Thanks,
Pat

KDodds
03-10-2009, 07:56 AM
These are the "backgrounds" that go in the tank, right? IME, they're almost as bad as UGF filter plates for catching and trapping detritus. If the goal is to avoid nutrient sinks, these backgrounds should be avoided.

poconogal
03-10-2009, 10:06 AM
I have no experience with these backgrounds, but I've read many reports of detritus getting trapped behind it and being a nightmare to clean. I'd avoid them.

captain morgan
03-11-2009, 09:57 AM
I agree with the members above, also heard they are outrageously exspensive and they take up valuable tank space, but they are nice to look at- in someone else's tank!

FLGirl1977
03-11-2009, 10:00 AM
I had a Pangea background in my Tropheus tank and not only does poop get behind the background... debris ends up on the background as well, so if you want 'crystal-clear' water, I would advise against it. I love the way they look, but they can be a pain... HTH...

ApacheDan
03-11-2009, 11:54 AM
Does anybody knows of any type of 3-D type of background that can be installed behind the tank and outside the water? that would be a good solution...if it is not too thick or at least flexible enough to allow the hanging of accesories such as tubes, outside filters....hummmm good business idea!:D

KDodds
03-11-2009, 12:02 PM
About 30 years ago, PennPlax made 3Ds that went outside (they looked 3D, too, but bulged away from the tank, obviously). If they're not made any longer, you still might be able to find some "antiques" on e-bay. ;)

ApacheDan
03-11-2009, 12:55 PM