PDA

View Full Version : cycle?

not so master reefer
03-13-2009, 01:54 AM
I am really new to this hobby. my question is...
1) how can you determine if your tank is cycling?
2) what are the sign when its done cycling?

rickztahone
03-13-2009, 01:59 AM
I am really new to this hobby. my question is...
1) how can you determine if your tank is cycling?
2) what are the sign when its done cycling?

it depends how you are doing your cycle. if you are doing fishless then you have to be adding ammonia. when you add 5ppm of ammonia and it is gone in 24hrs you are fully cycled which usually takes about 6-8 weeks. i have not read when you are cycled with a cycle using fish but i would imagine it would be around the same time frame and you would need hardy fish that create a good enough fish load

Eddie
03-13-2009, 06:23 AM
A little phrase from Carol Roberts. She contributes to the forum every single day.

Your tank is cycled when you start showing nitrAte.

NitrIte and ammonia should be zero in a fully cycled tank, but nitrIte can be zero in an uncycled tank too. Ammonia will show no matter what, but the nitrIte will not begin to show until the good bacteria grow enough to convert the ammonia to nitrIte.

So if you have zero nitrates, your tank is not cycled yet.

Eddie

not so master reefer
03-13-2009, 05:01 PM
does this mean that if ammonia or nitrite is there, the tank is not yet cycle?
is is possible to have 0 ammonia,nitrite and nitrate?does this mean the tank is cycled?

not so master reefer
03-13-2009, 05:03 PM
and does this mean that if your tank has been fully cycled, you will not get ammonia and nitrite anymore? sorry for asking too much...

seanyuki
03-13-2009, 05:15 PM
I do the opposite :p

You don't really need benefitial bacteria in the start.....really