PDA

View Full Version : songe filter question

BootDink
03-18-2009, 07:28 PM
does anyone elses sponge filter make a bubbly noise when its running? like even when the tank is completely topped off you can still hear the bubbles from the sponge bubbling lol and i also bought a very large air pump and it has an adjustable valve to raise air pressure and my question is should i havei it as high as it goes? sorry im new to sponges..only thing is when its up as high as it goes you can REALLY hear the bubbling and its kind of a nuisance

sorry for the rambling but i had to ask

thanks

judy
03-18-2009, 07:44 PM
a sponge filter that's submerged in the tank should not be making bubbling noises. Lower the air pressure. Sponge filters are more efficient and effective when water moves through them slowly, not quickly.

BootDink
03-18-2009, 08:12 PM
its not that its the sponge itself making the noise but you hear the bubbles comg out of the top of it plain as day when standing in the room, even 5 feet away from the tank... like you said though lowering the output pressure from the pump gradually takes the noise of the bubbling away but will it still work properly?

thanks

Eddie
03-18-2009, 08:13 PM
does anyone elses sponge filter make a bubbly noise when its running? like even when the tank is completely topped off you can still hear the bubbles from the sponge bubbling lol and i also bought a very large air pump and it has an adjustable valve to raise air pressure and my question is should i havei it as high as it goes? sorry im new to sponges..only thing is when its up as high as it goes you can REALLY hear the bubbling and its kind of a nuisance

sorry for the rambling but i had to ask

thanks

Something else you can do is take the sponge apart and route the airline through the top and connect a small airstone or bubble diffuser. Then put everything back together so that the airstone is inside the center portion of the sponge filter. It looks nicer and reduces the noise.