PDA

View Full Version : Successful Fry in a Community Tank?

aquagal
03-19-2009, 05:17 PM
I have about 25 wigglers that are surviving in my 55gal community tank. Their parents are doinga great job looking after them and I suspect they will be free swimming soon. Has anyone had success with fry actually surviving in this situation? The pair have laid several batches of eggs, but this is the first one that actually hatched.

Also, the wigglers current are "attached" to my [black] sponge filter. The parents are a red melon and white butterfly. I'm concerned they won't swim over to their parents?

Thanks.
Sherry

jelandusn
03-19-2009, 06:12 PM
I am by no means an expert at all. But I did have a pair, lay eggs in a tank with other fish. I think it depends on what kinds of fish you have, but, more than likely, they will be eaten. I had a pair in a 100 gallon tank with other small fish. The pair kept the small fish on one half of the tank and the small fish still picked off free swimmers whenever they felt the need to snack. I'm talking about little barbs and tetras, so anything bigger will definitely enjoy the snack. The first day or so the babies aren't attached to the parents. That's when they are easily eaten. You might get lucky and have some live, but starting off with a small number means the survivors might not be enough to keep the parents interested in raising them.

Runningfish
03-19-2009, 09:44 PM
Also, the wigglers current are "attached" to my [black] sponge filter. The parents are a red melon and white butterfly. I'm concerned they won't swim over to their parents?
Thanks.
Sherry

What do mean attached to your sponge filter? Did the parents put them there? Mine seem to be cleaning the cone and cleaning a side of the sponge too. Maybe they want the constant flow of water over the eggs/wigglers so they can take a rest.

Elite Aquaria
03-19-2009, 09:55 PM